PESHAWAR: The coalition authorities companions on Saturday introduced that they’d not take part within the by-elections for 3 seats of the Nationwide Meeting in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Pakistan Democratic Motion (PDM) spokesperson Abdul Jalil Jan stated that it’s our coverage and resolution that we’ll not take part in any by-elections.

“The coalition events are actually making ready for normal elections and can take part in upcoming elections,” he added.

No candidate from the events included within the PDM will submit nomination papers for NA-22 Mardan, NA-24 Charsadda and NA-31 Peshawar constituencies.

PTI candidates Ali Muhammad Khan, Fazal Muhammad Khan and Haji Shaukat Ali gained the three seats in 2018 normal elections.

After the resignation of the PTI lawmakers from the NA, PTI Chief Imran Khan gained the by-elections held on October 16 final yr on the above talked about three seats.

Nevertheless, these seats have been declared vacant by the Election Fee of Pakistan (ECP) because the ousted prime minister had didn’t take an oath.

Final month, the electoral watchdog introduced that by-elections on 31 vacant seats of the NA could be held on March 19, because the polls supervisory physique held consultations concerning the dates for holding elections of the provincial assemblies of Punjab and KP.

The ECP launched the schedule for the by-elections on 31 NA seats. In accordance with it, nomination papers could be submitted from Feb 10 to 14, which might be scrutinised on Feb 18.

The candidates would have the ability to withdraw the nomination papers until March 1. After that, the election symbols could be allotted to the candidates on March 2. The ECP stated that the balloting within the vacant constituencies could be held on March 19.

Copyright Enterprise Recorder, 2023