PSL 2023 day 18: Azam stars as Islamabad United beat Karachi Kings by six wickets

Azam Khan’s 41-ball 72 runs powered Islamabad United to a six-wicket win over Karachi Kings within the nineteenth match of the Pakistan Tremendous League season eight (PSL 8) on Friday. The match was performed on the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium.

The house facet chased down the 202 runs goal with six wickets and 4 balls to spare.

Batting first, Karachi misplaced Sharjeel Khan (8) early within the innings, however Tayyab Tahir (19), and Adam Rossington (20), saved the scoring price excessive with some clear energy hitting. Each perished contained in the powerplay, whereas Shoaib Malik (12) could not do a lot both. Reeling on 77/4, Karachi Kings have been as soon as once more lifted by their skipper Imad Wasim’s spirited batting. Imad scored an unbeaten 92 off simply 54 balls, complimented by Irfan Khan Niazi’s 20-ball 30, to publish a sizeable complete of 201/5 of their 20 overs.

Chasing an enormous complete, Islamabad misplaced Collin Munro for simply 11, however Alex Hales, 34, and Rassie van der Dussen, 22, saved them within the hunt, scoring 62 runs off the powerplay. Azam Khan walked in after Alex Hales’ little cameo got here to an finish. He performed an excellent 72-run inning to seek out the full in simply 19.2 overs. Faheem Ashraf additionally contributed with 32-ball 4.

Factors Desk Replace

With this emphatic win, Islamabad United earned two extra factors, taking their tally to eight. They’re positioned third within the factors desk. Lahore Qalandars are nonetheless on the prime with 5 wins from six video games and 10 factors. Multan, with 4 wins from six video games, are positioned second with eight factors. Peshawar Zalmi, who had been reeling on the fifth spot, jumped one place to the fourth after beating Karachi Kings on Wednesday. Karachi, however, have slid to fifth place with two wins. Quetta Gladiators stay on the backside of the desk with a solitary win in six video games.

PSL 2023 Day 18: Raza, bowlers script Lahore’s well-known win over Quetta

Subsequent Fixtures

In an all-important sport, desk toppers Lahore Qalandars will tackle their predecessors Multan Sultans at 7:00 pm on Saturday. The match will probably be performed on the Gaddafi Cricket Stadium, Lahore.

Previous PSL Winners

PSL 2016 – Islamabad United

PSL 2017 – Peshawar Zalmi

PSL 2018 – Islamabad United

PSL 2019 – Quetta Gladiators

PSL 2020 – Karachi Kings

PSL 2021 – Multan Sultans

PSL 2022 – Lahore Qalandars