Sri Lanka bowl first in opening ODI in opposition to New Zealand

AUCKLAND: Sri Lanka received the toss and selected to bowl within the opening one-day worldwide in opposition to New Zealand in Auckland on Saturday.

Captain Dasun Shanaka mentioned the latest historical past of ODI outcomes at diminutive Eden Park helped sway his resolution and in addition prompted the choice of 4 seam bowlers and a lone spinner in Wanindu Hasaranga.

Sri Lanka included skilled former Take a look at captain Angelo Mathews, who is about to bat at 4 in his first ODI in additional than two years.

Mathews is one in every of simply 4 beginning gamers who had been concerned within the second Take a look at loss in Wellington this week, handing New Zealand a 2-0 collection sweep.

The vacationers want to comb the three-match ODI collection to qualify routinely for the World Cup and keep away from the prospect of taking part in in a qualifying match in June-July.

“It’s a crucial collection for us for the World Cup qualifying, however the essential factor is that we play good cricket,” Shanaka mentioned. “New Zealand are a superb aspect however we’re right here to play good cricket and win matches.”

New Zealand triumph in windy Wellington, sweep collection 2-0

Tom Latham will lead an inexperienced Black Caps group lacking senior trio Kane Williamson, Devon Conway and Tim Southee, who’ve left to take up their Indian Premier League contracts.

Opening batsman Chad Bowes and spin bowling allrounder Rachin Ravindra will make ODI debuts.

“Clearly, a couple of totally different faces to what this aspect normally has, however I suppose heading right into a World Cup, each preparation you get is essential,” Latham mentioned.


New Zealand: Finn Allen, Chad Bowes, Will Younger, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (capt), Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Matt Henry, Blair Tickner.

Sri Lanka: Nuwandidu Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka (capt), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Dilshan Madushanka

Umpires: Chris Gaffaney (NZL), Wayne Knights (NZL)

TV umpire: Chris Brown (NZL)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)