T20I sequence towards Afghanistan in Sharjah: 15-member squad introduced

LAHORE: With one eye on the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2024 and the opposite on making certain the careers of their elite cricketers are prolonged by strategically managing their workloads, the Pakistan cricket selectors Monday named a new-look and highly-talented 15-player squad for the three-match T20I sequence towards Afghanistan, which can be performed from March 24 to 27 in Sharjah.

All-rounder Shadab Khan will lead the aspect that features 4 uncapped gamers, specifically, Ihsanullah, Saim Ayub, Tayyab Tahir and Zaman Khan, whereas Abdullah Shafique, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf and Imad Wasim have been recalled.

Pakistan captain Babar Azam, together with Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Rizwan and Shaheen Shah Afridi has been rested, whereas Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Mohammad Hasnain and Khushdil Shah have been dropped. These 9 gamers had been a part of the Pakistan squad that reached the ultimate of the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia.

Aside from the Shadab, gamers retained from the final T20I sequence are: Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Junior, Naseem Shah and Shan Masood.

Chair of PCB Administration Committee, Najam Sethi stated, “I wish to congratulate Shadab Khan on his appointment because the Pakistan group captain for the sequence towards Afghanistan. Shadab Khan has been the Pakistan vice-captain in white-ball cricket for the previous couple of years and it’s logical that he takes over the aspect within the absence of Babar Azam for the quick three-match T20I tour of Sharjah. For the quick Sharjah tour and to make sure continuity, now we have additionally appointed Mohammad Yousuf because the interim head and batting coach. ”

Pakistan is scheduled to function in eight ODIs in a lead as much as the 50-over Asia Cup 2023 and the ICC Males’s Cricket World Cup 2023, will play in seven ICC World Take a look at Championship matches and seem in 25 T20Is within the construct as much as the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2024 over the following 15 months.

Pakistan squad: Shadab Khan (captain), Abdullah Shafique, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir and Zaman Khan.

Copyright Enterprise Recorder, 2023